A Caucophony of Lifestyle

Emmy Awards 2011

Despite the fact that I mostly watched the Food Network last night, as I’m pretty addicted to Top Chef; Just Desserts (new season…woot!), I love hearing all about the Emmy’s, and will probably youtube Jane Lynch’s opening number.  As a result I caught up on the 2011 Emmy’s today, from the website –  www.emmys.com

Matt Leblanc was one of the nominees for best Lead Actor in a comedy series…what I noticed was….I think he’s starting to look like George Clooney.

Matt LeBlanc

Other than that, here are all the details, each with my vote for who I thought should have won:

Lead Actress in a Comedy Series:

Nominated: Laura Linney for The Big C, Edie Falco for Nurse Jackie, Amy Poehler for Parks and Recreation, Martha Plimpton for Raising Hope, and Tina Fey for 30 Rock

Winner: Melissa McCarthy for Mike and Molly

**I thought Tina Fey should have won, just because I quote 30 Rock all the time, and I love to eat.

Lead Actor in a Comedy Series:

Nominated: Matt Leblanc for Episodes, Steve Carrell for the Office, Johnny Galecki for the Big Bang Theory, Louis C.K. for Louie, Alec Bladwin for 30 Rock.

Winner: Jim Parsons for the Big Bang Theory

**I thought Steve Carrell should have won as a memoriam to the fact that he won’t ever be able to win for the Office again….sigh!

Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series:

Nominated: Jane Lynch for Glee, Betty White for Hot in Cleveland, Kristen Wiig for Saturday Night Live, Jane Krakowski for 30 Rock, Sofia Vergara for Modern Family

Winner: Julie Bowen for Modern Family

**I was actually very happy with this one, although I think this was a pretty tight category.

Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series:

Nominated: John Cryer for Two and a Half Men, Chris Colfer for Glee, Jesse Tyler Ferguson for Modern Family, Ed O’Neill for Modern Family, Eric Stonestreet for Modern Family

Winner:  Ty Burrell for Modern Family

**I guess this year was the Modern Family year, I can’t believe almost all the nominees are from the same show.  I love Modern family, but maybe there needs to be some more action from other shows?

Best Comedy Series

Nominated: Glee, Parks and Recreation, The Office, 30 Rock, The Big Bang Theory

Winner: Modern Family

**I guess it really is their year.  Although, I would have like to see The Office win, I’m still in love with Modern Family.

Lead Actress in a Drama Series

Nominated: Elisabeth Moss for Mad Men, Connie Britton for Friday Night Lights, Mariska Hargitay for Law and Order SVU, Mireille Enos for the Killing, Kathy Bates for Harry’s Law.

Winner: Juliana Margulies for The Good Wife.

**I haven’t seen the good wife, but how is it that Juliana Margulies win’s every year?? I would have loved for Elisabeth Moss to win.

Lead Actor in a Drama Series

Nominated: Steve Buscemi for Boardwalk Empire, Michael C Hall for Dexter, Jon Hamm for Mad Men, Hugh Laurie for House, Timothy Olyphant for Justified

Winner: Kyle Chandler for Friday Night Lights

**I love Jon Hamm, and Mad Men in general.  It makes me want to drink and smoke.  And I’ve never been a smoker.

Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Nominated: Kelly McDonald for Boardwalk Empire, Christina Hendricks for Mad Men, Michelle Forbes for the Killing, Archie Panjabi for the Good Wife, Christine Baranski for the Good Wife

Winner: Margo Martindale for Justified

**This makes me both want to watch Boardwalk Empire, as well as say that I also love Christina Hendricks.

Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Nominated: John Slattery for Mad Men, Andre Braugher for Men of a Certain Age, Walton Goggins for Justified, Josh Charles for the Good Wife, Alan Cumming for the Good Wife

Winner: Peter Dinklage for Game of Thrones

**I CANNOT believe that Game of Thrones didn’t get more nominations, like Sean Bean, Lena Headey, Michelle Fairley or Emilia Clarke.  I’m very glad that Peter Dinklage won though.  Probably my favourite win.

Best Drama Series

Nominated: Boardwalk Empire, The Good Wife, Friday Night Lights, Dexter, Game of Thrones

Winner: Mad Men

**I also love Mad Men, but remember when all these shows first aired and were super awesome and won everything?  How did that equality not spread to Game of Thrones??

These are the categories that are the most popular and mainstream, so I went over them in detail.  Overall opinions of the Emmy Awards anyone??

Comments on: "Emmy Awards 2011" (2)

  1. The Good Wife is pretty much my favourite show, and I am sooo glad she won! I will lend you the DVD of season 1. I love Modern Family too (I got hooked on these 2 shows on the plane to Oz!)

  2. Haha, well I will have to borrow the season and I might change my mind. But I think she’s won a few years in a row now…give someone else a chance! Maybe I need a trip to Australia to get addicted to new shows!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

